the REIGNMAN Collection

593 Shawn Kemp cards and counting


What is the Reignman Collection?

My humble Shawn Kemp NBA Card Collection. I started collecting these during the 1995-96 season when Kemp started to emerge as a bona fide NBA superstar. Being in my mid-teen years then, I could not afford to buy many singles or the high end products such as Topps Finest so my collection was slow to grow and was comprised of only basic inserts, base cards, and subset cards. The 1997-98 season saw my interest in the hobby dwindle – maybe it was because Kemp got traded to the Cavs – and so I stopped buying cards altogether.

Fat Shawn Kemp

I moved to Sydney, Australia in 2000 and promptly forgot about the NBA due to that country’s penchant for non-American sports. I discovered eBay’s NBA card potential around 2003 and started buying a few singles every now and then. During this time Shawn Kemp had been discarded by both the hobby and the NBA as a has-been so his cards were on the cheap and I managed to bag a few rare cards for ridiculously low prices (1996-97 Ultra Starring Role for about $5.00!).

Enter 2010. I had been back in Manila for more than 2 years when I came across the site http://www.nbacardsph.com, a forum for the thriving NBA card collecting community in the Philippines. This re-sparked my interest in collecting. Shawn Kemp cards have seen a steady increase in popularity, especially his rare 90’s insert cards. This is much to my dismay because now I can’t afford those crucial cards to complete my collection. One day I will be able to afford an autographed Shawn Kemp card. One day, I tells ya!

Scanning and editing individual cards is a tedious task but I’ll keep updating the blog/site for sure. Please use the menu on the right to view the collection.

UPDATE 2021: The start of this year marked roughly the 7th year I had stopped collecting for the second time. I was simply curious about the value of some my other NBA cards at this point and checked out some new websites and FB groups and found out how crazy prices are now, especially 90s cards and the current retail products – sad how the reseller mentality is affecting all sorts of hobbies now. Anyway, now I’ve started buying Kemp cards again (at a budget) and am thinking of building a Matisse Thybulle side PC… let’s see how deep this rabbit hole goes

Leave a comment